About the Personnel Department

The Personnel Department provides a wide range of internal services to the City's departments to ensure that employees are well-trained, fairly compensated, healthy, and happy. These services include:

  • Providing professional labor relations services, including contract negotations with each of seven unions
  • Maintenance of job descriptions, classifications, and compensation packages
  • Maintenance of personnel records
  • Implementation of state and federal policies and procedures
  • Equal opportunity employment and affirmative action oversight
  • And more

Divisions

  • Job Postings

  • Holiday Calendar

  • Policies

  • Employee Guidebook

  • Learning Organization Statement

Title Department Application Start Date Application End Date
Manager of Accounts Payable Auditing 11/14/2018 Open Until Filled
Capital Projects Director Capital Projects and Planning 11/07/2018 Open Until Filled
Senior Planner Planning and Zoning 10/26/2018 11/16/2018
Director of Inspectional Services Inspectional Services Department (ISD) 10/23/2018 Open Until Filled
Customer Service Representative Treasurer/Collector 10/22/2018 10/22/2018
Spanish Language Liaison Assistant Internship SomerViva: Office of Immigrant Affairs 10/11/2018 Open Until Filled
Environmental Health Coordinator Health and Human Services 10/10/2018 Open Until Filled
Senior Forestry & Urban Landscape Planner OSPCD - Transportation and Infrastructure 10/04/2018 Open Until Filled
Wire Inspector Inspectional Services Department (ISD) 09/25/2018 Open Until Filled
Director of Libraries Libraries 09/12/2018 Open Until Filled

Pages

Subscribe to Job Postings

2018 Holidays

For Non-Bargaining Unit Employees**

Monday, January 1 New Year's Day
Monday, January 15 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Monday, February 19 Presidents' Day
Monday, April 16 Patriot's Day
Monday, May 28 Memorial Day
Monday, June 18 Bunker Hill Day Observed*
Wednesday, July 4 Independence Day
Monday, September 3 Labor Day
Monday, October 8 Indigenous Peoples’ Day
Monday, November 12 Veterans' Day Observed*
Thursday, November 22 Thanksgiving Day
Friday, November 23 Thanksgiving Friday
Monday, December 24 Christmas Eve (1/2 day)
Tuesday, December 25 Christmas Day

 

2019 Holidays

For Non-Bargaining Unit Employees**

Tuesday, January 1 New Year's Day
Monday, January 21 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Monday, February 18 Presidents' Day
Monday, April 15 Patriot's Day
Monday, May 27 Memorial Day
Monday, June 17 Bunker Hill Day
Thursday, July 4 Independence Day
Monday, September 2 Labor Day
Monday, October 14 Indigenous Peoples’ Day
Monday, November 11 Veterans' Day
Thursday, November 28 Thanksgiving Day
Friday, November 29 Thanksgiving Friday
Tuesday, December 24 Christmas Eve (1/2 day)
Wednesday, December 25 Christmas Day

*Under State Law, all holidays falling on Sunday must be observed on Monday.
**Please note: For bargaining unit employees, holidays are pursuant to collective bargaining agreements and may vary from this list.

 

The City of Somerville prides itself on being a learning organization. We believe that innovation and growth stem from learning and trying new things. Our goal is to encourage employees to be creative and learn new skills by providing easy access to opportunities for professional growth and development in a variety of ways.

Access to Training and Professional Development Opportunities

The City provides routine training on employment-related policies and best practices.

Department Heads are encouraged to work with staff to assess and plan for a variety of job-related programs to support continued learning, growth, and professional engagement of employees.

The Personnel Department further supports learning opportunities and access when departmental budgetary constraints may arise. Additionally, the Personnel Department administers the Non-Union Education Reimbursement Program.

Employees covered by a collective bargaining agreement may be provided opportunities and/or incentives for advancing education and professional growth as outlined in the appropriate agreement.

Resources

Questions

For more information about professional development opportunities, programs, and access please feel free to contact the Personnel Department at (617) 625-6600 x3300.