The Everett Board of Health
Regulation Restricting the Sale of Tobacco Products

A. Statement of Purpose:

Whereas there exists conclusive evidence that tobacco smoking causes cancer, respiratory and cardiac
diseases, negative birth outcomes, irritations to the eyes, nose and throat;

Whereas the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services has concluded that nicotine is as addictive
as cocaine or heroin and the Surgeon General found that nicotine exposure during adolescence, a critical
window for brain development, may have lasting adverse consequences for brain development, and that
it is addiction to nicotine that keeps youth smoking past adolescence.

Whereas a Federal District Court found that Phillip Morris, RJ Reynolds and other leading cigarette
manufacturers “spent billions of dollars every year on their marketing activities in order to encourage
young people to try and then continue purchasing their cigarette products in order to provide the
replacement smokers they need to survive” and that these companies were likely to continue targeting
underage smokers;

Whereas more than 80 percent of all adult smokers begin smoking before the age of 18, more than 90
percent do so before leaving their teens, and more than 3.5 mi}lion middle and high school students
smoke; o P

} .
Whereas 18.1 percent of current smokers-aged <1¥ years rtl:porfed that they usually directly purchased
their cigarettes from stores (i.e. convenience store, supermarket, or discount store) or gas stations, and
among 11™ grade males this rate was nearly 30 percent ;

Whereas the Institute of Medicine (IOM) concludes that raising the minimum age of legal access to
tobacco products to 21 will likely reduce tobacco initiation, particularly among adolescents 15 — 17,
which would improve health across the lifespan and save lives.

Whereas cigars and cigarillos, can be sold in a single “dose;” enjoy a relatively low tax as compared to
cigarettes; are available in fruit, candy and alcohol flavors; and are popular among youth;

Whereas research shows that increased cigar prices significantly decreased the probability of male
adolescent cigar use and a 10% increase in cigar prices would reduce use by 3.4%;

Whereas 59% of high school smokers in Massachusetts have tried flavor cigarettes or flavored cigars
and 25.6% of them are current flavored tobacco product users; 95.1 % of 12 — 17 year olds who smoked
cigars reported smoking cigar brands that were flavored;

Whereas the Surgeon General found that exposure to tobacco marketing in stores and price discounting
increase youth smoking;

Whereas the federal Family Smoking Prevention and Tobacco Control Act (FSPTCA), enacted in 2009,
prohibited candy- and fruit-flavored cigarettes, largely because these flavored products were marketed to
youth and young aduits, and younger smokers were more likely to have tried these products than older
smokers, neither federal nor Massachusetts laws restrict sales of flavored non-cigarette tobacco
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products, such as cigars, cigarillos, smokeless tobacco, hookah tobacco, and electronic devices and the
nicotine solutions used in these devices;

Whereas the U.S. Food and Drug Administration and the U.S. Surgeon General have stated that flavored
tobacco products are considered to be “starter” products that help establish smoking habits that can lead

to long-term addiction;

Whereas the U.S. Surgeon General recognized in his 2014 report that a complementary strategy to assist
in eradicating tobacco related death and disease is for local governments to ban categories of products

from retail sale;

Whereas the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has reported that the current use of
electronic cigarettes, a product sold in dozens of flavors that appeal to youth, among middle and high
school students tripled from 2013 to 2014,

Whereas 5.8% of Massachusetts youth currently use e-cigarettes and 15.9% have tried them;

Whereas the Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection has classified liquid nicotine in any
amount as an “acutely hazardous waste”;

Whereas in a lab analysis conducted by the FDA, electronic cigarette cartridges that were labeled as
containing no nicotine actually had low levels of nicotine present in all cartridges tested, except for one;

Whereas according to the CDC’s youth risk behavior surveillance system, the percentage of high school
students in Massachusetts who reported the use of cigars within the past 30 days is 10.8% in 2013;

Whereas data from the National Youth Tobacco Survey indicate that more than two-fifths of U.S.
middle and high school smokers report using flavored little cigars or flavored cigarettes;

Whereas the sale of tobacco products is incompatible with the mission of health care institutions because
these products are detrimental to the public health and their presence in health care institutions
undermine efforts to educate patients on the safe and effective use of medication, including cessation

medication;

Whereas educational institutions sell tobacco products to a younger population, who is particularly at
risk for becoming smokers and such sale of tobacco products is incompatible with the mission of
educational institutions that educate a younger population about social, environmental and health risks

and harms;

Whereas the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court has held that *. . . [t]he right to engage in business
must yield to the paramount right of government to protect the public health by any rational means™.

Now, therefore it is the intention of the Everett Board of Health to regulate the sale of tobacco products.

B. Authority:

This regulation is promulgated pursuant to the authority granted to the Everett Board of Health by
Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 111, Section 31 that "Boards of Health may make reasonable

health regulations."
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C. Definitions:
For the purpose of this regulation, the following words shall have the following meanings:

Adult-only retail tobacco store: An establishment that is not required to possess a retail food permit
whose primary purpose is to sell or offer for sale but not for resale, tobacco products and tobacco
paraphernalia, in which the sale of other products is merely incidental, and in which the entry of persons
under the minimum legal sales age is prohibited at all times, and maintains a valid permit for the retail
sale of tobacco products as required to be issued by the Everett Board of Health.

Blunt Wrap: Any tobacco product manufactured or packaged as a wrap or as a hollow tube made wholly
or in part from tobacco that is designed or intended to be filled by the consumer with loose tobacco or

other fillers regardless of any content.

Business Agent: An individual who has been designated by the owner or operator of any establishment
to be the manager or otherwise in charge of said establishment.

Characterizing flavor: A distinguishable taste or aroma, other than the taste or aroma of tobacco,
menthol, mint or wintergreen, imparted or detectable either prior to or during consumption of a tobacco
product or component part thereof, including, but not limited to, tastes or aromas relating to any fruit,
chocolate, vanilla, honey, candy, cocoa, dessert, alcoholic beverage, herb or spice; provided, however,
that no tobacco product shall be determined to have a characterizing flavor solely because of the
provision of ingredient information or the use of additives or flavorings that do not contribute to the
distinguishable taste or aroma of the product.

Cigar: Any roll of tobacco that is wrapped in leaf tobacco or in any substance containing tobacco with or
without a tip or mouthpiece not otherwise defined as a cigarette under Massachusetts General Law,

Chapter 64C, Section 1, Paragraph 1.

Component part: Any element of a tobacco product, including, but not limited to, the tobacco, filter and
paper, but not including any constituent.

Constituent: Any ingredient, substance, chemical or compound, other than tobacco, water or
reconstituted tobacco sheet, that is added by the manufacturer to a tobacco product during the
processing, manufacturing or packaging of the tobacco product. Such term shall include a smoke

constituent.

Coupon: Any card, paper, note, form, statement, ticket or other issue distributed for commercial or
promotional purposes to be later surrendered by the bearer so as to receive an article, service or
accommodation without charge or at a discount price.

Distinguishable; Perceivable by either the sense of smell or taste.

Educational Institution: Any public or private college, school, professional school, scientific or technical
institution, university or other institution furnishing a program of higher education.

Employee: Any individual who performs services for an employer.
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Employer: Any individual, partnership, association, corporation, trust or other organized group of
individuals that uses the services of one (1) or more employees.

Flavored tobacco product: Any tobacco product or component part thereof that contains a constituent
that has or produces a characterizing flavor. A public statement, claim or indicia made or disseminated
by the manufacturer of a tobacco product, or by any person authorized or permitted by the manufacturer
to make or disseminate public statements concerning such tobacco product, that such tobacco product
has or produces a characterizing flavor shall constitute presumptive evidence that the tobacco product is
a flavored tobacco product.

Health Care Institution: An individual, partnership, association, corporation or trust or any person or
group of persons that provides health care services and employs health care providers licensed, or
subject to licensing, by the Massachusetts Department of Public Health under M.G.L. c. 112 or a retail
establishment that provides pharmaceutical goods and services and is subject to the provisions of 247
CMR 6.00. Health care institutions include, but are not limited to, hospitals, clinics, health centers,
pharmacies, drug stores, doctor offices, optician/optometrist offices and dentist offices.

Liquid Nicotine Container: A bottle or other vessel which contains nicotine in liquid or gel form,
whether or not combined with another substance or substances, for use in a tobacco product, as defined
herein. The term does not include a container containing nicotine in a cartridge that is sold, marketed, or
intended for use in a tobacco product, as defined herein, if the cartridge is prefilled and sealed by the
manufacturer and not intended to be open by the consumer or retailer.

Listed or non-discounted price: The higher of the price listed for a tobacco product on its package or the
price listed on any related shelving, posting, advertising or display at the place where the tobacco
product is sold or offered for sale plus all applicable taxes if such taxes are not included in the state
price, and before the application of any discounts or coupons.

Minimum Legal Sales Age (MLSA): The age an individual must be is 21 to be sold a tobacco product in
the Everett.

Non-Residential Roll-Your-Own (RYQO) Machine: A mechanical device made available for use
(including to an individual who produces cigars, cigarettes, smokeless tobacco, pipe tobacco, or roll-
your-own tobacco solely for the individual's own personal consumption or use) that is capable of making
cigarettes, cigars or other tobacco products. RYO machines located in private homes used for solely
personal consumption are not Non-Residential RYO machines.

Permit Holder: Any person engaged in the sale or distribution of tobacco products who applies for and
receives a tobacco product sales permit or any person who is required to apply for a Tobacco Product
Sales Permit pursuant to these regulations, or his or her business agent.

Person: Any individual, firm, partnership, association, corporation, company or organization of any
kind, including but not limited to, an owner, operator, manager, proprietor or person in charge of any
establishment, business or retail store,

Self-Service Display: Any display from which customers may select a tobacco product, as defined
herein, without assistance from an employee or store personnel.
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Smoke Constituent: Any chemical or chemical compound in mainstream or sidestream tobacco smoke
that either transfers from any component of the tobacco product to the smoke or that is formed by the
combustion or heating of tobacco, additives or other component of the tobacco product.

Smoking Bar: An establishment that primarily is engaged in the retail sale of tobacco products for
consumption by customers on the premises and is required by Mass. General Law Ch. 270, §22 to
maintain a valid permit to operate a smoking bar issued by the Massachusetts Department of Revenue.
“Smoking bar” shall include, but not be limited to, those establishments that are commonly known as

“cigar bars” and “hookah bars”.

Tobacco Product: Any product containing, made, or derived from tobacco or nicotine that 1s intended for
human consumption, whether smoked, chewed, absorbed, dissolved, inhaled, snorted, sniffed, or
ingested by any other means, including, but not limited to: cigarettes, cigars, little cigars, chewing
tobacco, pipe tobacco, snuff; or electronic cigarettes, electronic cigars, electronic pipes, electronic
hookah, liquid nicotine, “e-liquids” or other similar products, regardless of nicotine content, that rely on
vaporization or aerosolization. “Tobacco product” includes any component or part of a tobacco product.
“Tobacco product” does not include any product that has been approved by the United States Food and
Drug Administration either as a tobacco use cessation product or for other medical purposes and which
is being marketed and sold or prescribed solely for the approved purpose.

Vending Machine: Any automated or mechanical self-service device, which upon insertion of money,
tokens or any other form of payment, dispenses or makes cigarettes or any other tobacco products, as
defined herein.

D. Tobacco Sales to Persons Under the Minimum Legal Sales Age Prohibited:

1. No person shall sell tobacco products or permit tobacco products, as defined herein, to be sold to 2
person under the minimum legal sales age; or not being the individual's parent or legal gnardian, give
tobacco products, as defined herein, to a person under the minimum legal sales age. The minimum legal
sales age in Everett is twenty-one (21).

2. Required Signage:

a. In conformance with and in addition to Massachusetts General Law, Chapter 270, Section 7, a
copy of Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 270, Section 6, shall be posted conspicuously by
the owner or other person in charge thereof in the shop or other place used to sell tobacco
products at retail. The notice shall be provided by the Massachusetts Department of Public
Health and made available from the Everett Board of Health. The notice shall be at least 48
square inches and shall be posted conspicuously by the permit holder in the retail establishment
or other place in such a manner so that it may be readily seen by a person standing at or
approaching the cash register. The notice shall directly face the purchaser and shall not be
obstructed from view or placed at a height of less than 4 feet or greater than 9 feet from the floor.
The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other place used to sell tobacco products at
retail shall conspicuously post any additional signs required by the Massachusetts Department of
Public Health. The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other place used to sell hand
rolled cigars must display a warning about cigar consumption in a sign at least 50 square inches
pursuant to 940 CMR 22.06 (2} (e).
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b. The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other place used to sell tobacco products, as
defined herein, at retail shall conspicuously post signage provided by the Everett Board of Health
that discloses current referral information about smoking cessation.

c. The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other place used to sell tobacco products that
rely on vaporization or aerosolization, as defined herein as “tobacco products”, at retail shall
conspicuously post a sign stating that “The sale of tobacco products, including e-cigarettes, to
someone under the minimum legal sales age of 21 years is prohibited.” The notice shall be no
smaller than 8.5 inches by 11 inches and shall be posted conspicuously in the retail establishment
or other place in such a manner so that it may be readily seen by a person standing at or
approaching the cash register. The notice shall directly face the purchaser and shall not be
obstructed from view or placed at a height of less than four (4) feet or greater than nine (9) feet

from the floor.

3. Identification: Each person selling or distributing tobacco products, as detined herein, shall verify the
age of the purchaser by means of a valid government-issued photographic identification containing the
bearer's date of birth that the purchaser is 21 years old or older. Verification is required for any person
under the age of 27.

4. All retail sales of tobacco products, as defined herein, must be face-to-face between the seller and the
buyer and occur at the permitted location.

E. Tobacco Product Sales Permit:

1. No person shall sell or otherwise distribute tobacco products, as defined herein, within the City of
Everett without first obtaining a Tobacco Product Sales Permit issued annually by the Everett Board of
Health. Only owners of establishments with a permanent, non-mobile location in Everett are eligible to
apply for a permit and sell tobacco products, as defined herein, at the specified location in Everett.

2. As part of the Tobacco Product Sales Permit application process, the applicant will be provided with
the Everett regulation. Each applicant is required to sign a statement declaring that the applicant has read
said regulation and that the applicant is responsible for instructing any and all employees who will be
responsible for tobacco product sales regarding federal, state and local laws regarding the sale of
tobacco and this regulation.

3. Each applicant who sells tobacco products is required to provide proof of a current Tobacco Retailer
License issued by the Massachusetts Department of Revenue, when required by state law, before a
Tobacco Product Sales Permit can be issued.

4. A separate permit, displayed conspicuously, is required for each retail establishment selling tobacco
products, as defined herein. The fee for which shall be determined by the Everett Board of Health and

renewed Annually by December 31%.
5. A Tobacco Product Sales Permit is non-transferable. A new owner of an establishment that sells

tobacco products, as defined herein, must apply for a new permit. No new permit will be issued unless
and until all outstanding penalties incurred by the previous permit holder are satisfied in full.
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6. Issuance of a Tobacco Product Sales Permit shall be conditioned on an applicant’s consent to
unannounced, periodic inspections of his/her retail establishment to ensure compliance with this
regulation.

7. A Tobacco Product Sales Permit will not be renewed if the permit bolder has failed to pay all fines
issued and the time period to appeal the fines has expired and/or the permit holder has not satisfied any

outstanding permit suspensions.

8. A Tobacco Product Sales Permit will not be renewed if the permit holder has sold a tobacco product
to a person under the MLSA (§D.1) three times within the previous permit year and the time period to
appeal has expired. The violator may request a hearing in accordance with subsection 4 of the
Violations section.

9. No tobacco sales permit holder shall allow any employee to sell cigarettes or other tobacco products
until such employee reads this regulation and state laws regarding the sale of tobacco and signs a
statement, a copy of which will be placed on file in the office of the employer, that he/she has read the

regulation and applicable state laws.

F. Cigar Sales Regulated:

1. No person shall sell or distribute or cause to be sold or distributed a single cigar.

2. No person shall sell or distribute or cause to be sold or distributed any original factory-wrapped
package of two or more cigars, unless such package is priced for retail sale at $5.00 or more.

3. This Section shall not apply to:
a. The sale or distribution of any single cigar having a retail price of two dollars and fifty cents

($2.50) or more.

b. A person or entity engaged in the business of selling or distributing cigars for commercial
purposes to another person or entity engaged in the business of selling or distributing cigars for
commercial purposes with the intent to sell or distribute outside the boundaries of Everett.

4. The Everett Board of Health may adjust from time to time the amounts specified in this Section to
reflect changes in the applicable Consumer Price Index by amendment of this regulation.

G. Sale of Flavored Tobacco Products Prohibited:

No person shall sell or distribute or cause to be sold or distributed any flavored tobacco product, except
in smoking bars and adult-only retail tobacco stores.

H. Prohibition of the Sale of Blunt Wraps:

No person or entity shall sell or distribute blunt wraps in Everett.

1. Free Distribution and Coupon Redemption: No person shall:

1. Distribute or cause to be distributed, any free samples of tobacco products, as defined herein;
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2. Accept or redeem, offer to accept or redeem, or cause or hire any person to accept or redeem or offer
to accept or redeem any coupon that provides any tobacco product, as defined herein, without charge
or for less than the listed or non-discounted price; or

3. Sell a tobacco product, as defined herein, to consumers through any multi-pack discounts (e.g., "buy-
two-get-one-free") or otherwise provide or distribute to consumers any tobacco product, as defined
herein, without charge or for less than the listed or non-discounted price
in exchange for the purchase of any other tobacco product.

4. Sections 2 and 3 shall not apply to products, such as cigarettes, for which there is a state law
prohibiting them from being sold as loss leaders and for which a minimum retail price is required by

state law.

J. Out-of-Package Sales:

1. The sale or distribution of tobacco products, as defined herein, in any form other than an original
factory-wrapped package is prohibited, including the repackaging or dispensing of any tobacco
product, as defined herein, for retail sale. No person may sell or cause to be sold or distribute or
cause to be distributed any cigarette package that contains fewer than twenty (20) cigarettes,
including single cigarettes.

2. A retailer of Liquid Nicotine Containers must comply with the provisions of 310 CMR
30.000, and must provide the Everett Board of Health with a written plan for disposal of said
product, including disposal plans for any breakage, spillage or expiration of the product.

3. All retailers must comply with 940 CMR 21.05 which reads: “lt shall be an unfair or
deceptive act or practice for any person to sell or distribute nicotine in a liquid or gel substance
in Massachusetts after March 15, 2016 unless the liquid or gel product is contained in a child-
resistant package that, at a minimum, meets the standard for special packaging as set forth in 15
U.S. C.§§1471 through 1476 and 16 CFR §1700 et.

K, Self Service Displays:

All self-service displays of tobacco products, as defined herein, are prohibited. All humidors including,
but not limited to, walk-in humidors must be locked.

L. Vending Machines:

All vending machines containing tobacco products, as defined herein, are prohibited. With the exception
of private clubs that have vending machines prior to new regulations as of 5/1/17, are grandfathered in to
have machines.

M. Non-Residential Roll-Your-Own Machines:

All Non-Residential Roll-Your-Own machines are prohibited.
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N._Prohibition of the Sale of Tobacco Products by Health Care Institutions:

No health care institution located in the City of Everett shall sell or cause to be sold tobacco products.
No retail establishment that operates or has a health care institution within it, such as a pharmacy or drug
store, shall sell or cause to be sold tobacco products; except those wholesalers licensed under chapter
sixty two, section sixty seven of the Massachusetts General Laws may sell tobacco for wholesale only to
resellers who possess a valid Massachusetts Tobacco Retailer License and who are registered through
the Department of Revenue to collect sales tax. Additionally, tobacco products sold by wholesalers shalil
be stored away from the retail sales area and not visible to non-resellers.

O. Prohibition of the Sale of Tobacco Products by Educational Institutions:

No educational institution located in Everett shall scll or cause to be sold tobacco products, as defined
herein. This includes all educational institutions as well as any retail establishments that operate on the
property of an educational institution.

P. Incorporation of Attorney General Regulation 940 CMR 21.00:

The sale or distribution of tobacco products, as defined herein, must comply with those provisions found
at 940 CMR 21.00 (“Sale and Distribution of Cigarettes, Smokeless Tobacco Products, and Electronic
Smoking Devices in Massachusetts™).

Q. Violations:

1. It shall be the responsibility of the establishment, permit holder and/or his or her business agent to
ensure compliance with all sections of this regulation. The violator shall receive:

a. In the case of a first violation, a fine of three hundred dollars ($300.00).

b. In the case of a second violation within twenty-four (24) months of the date of the current
violation, a fine of three hundred dollars ($300.00) and the Tobacco Product Sales Permit shall
be suspended for seven (7) consecutive business days.

c. In the case of three or more violations within a twenty-four (24) month period, a fine of three
hundred dollars ($300.00) and the Tobacco Product Sales Permit shall be suspended for thirty
(30) consecutive business days.

d. In the case of four violations or repeated, egregious violations of this regulation within a twenty-
four (24) month period, the Board of Health shall hold a hearing in accordance with subsection 4
of this section and may permanently revoke a Tobacco Product Sales Permit.

2. Refusal to cooperate with inspections pursuant to this regulation shall result in the suspension of the
Tobacco Product Sales Permit for thirty (30) consecutive business days.

3. In addition to the monetary fines set above, any permit holder who engages in the sale or distribution
of tobacco products while his or her permit is suspended shall be subject to the suspension of all Board
of Health issued permits for thirty (30) consecutive business days.

4. The Everett Board of Health shall provide notice of the intent to suspend or revoke a Tobacco Product
Sales Permit, which notice shall contain the reasons therefor and establish a time and date for a hearing
which date shall be no earlier than seven (7) days after the date of said notice. The permit holder or its
business agent shall have an opportunity to be heard at such hearing and shall be notified of the Board of
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Health's decision and the reasons therefor in writing. After a hearing, the Everett Board of Health shall
suspend or revoke the Tobacco Product Sales Permit if the Board of Health finds that a violation of this
regulation occurred. For purposes of such suspensions or revocations, the Board shall make the
determination notwithstanding any separate criminal or non-criminal proceedings brought in court
hereunder or under the Massachusetts General Laws for the same offense. All tobacco products, as
defined herein, shall be removed from the retail establishment upon suspension or revocation of the
Tobacco Product Sales Permit. Failure to remove all tobacco products, as defined herein, shall constitute

a separate violation of this regulation.

R. Non-Criminal Disposition:

Whoever violates any provision of this regulation may be penalized by the non-criminal method of
disposition as provided in Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 40, Section 21D or by filing a criminal

complaint at the appropriate venue.

S. Separate Violations:
Each day any violation exists shall be deemed to be a separate offense.
T. Enforcement:

Enforcement of this regulation shall be by the Everett Board of Health or its designated agent(s).
Any resident who desires to register a complaint pursuant to the regulation may do so by contacting the
Everett Board of Health or its designated agent(s) and the Board shall investigate.

U. Severability:

If any provision of this regulation is declared invalid or unenforceable, the other provisions shall not be
affected thereby but shall continue in full force and effect.

V. Effective Date:

This regulation shall take effect on Mayl, 2017
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