About the Bicycle Committee

The Somerville Bicycle Committee is an advisory group appointed by the Mayor. The Committee works alongside City staff to improve conditions for bicyclists in the City, promote bicycling as a means of transportation, improve bike safety conditions, and help implement bike safety policies and programs for cyclists of all ages.

The Somerville Bicycle Committee was established by Board of Aldermen ordinance on February 8, 2001. Committee members include residents, business owners, and City staff from the Office of Strategic Planning and Community Development (OSPCD), Traffic and Parking Department (T&P), Police Department, and Department of Public Works (DPW). The Mayor's Office and the Board of Aldermen are also represented on the Bicycle Committee.

The Somerville Bicycle Committee works to support and help implement the City's SomerVision goals for creating a bike-friendly community, including the Mayor's goal of shifting 50% of all new trips to Somerville to biking, walking, and transit by the year 2020. The City of Somerville also seeks to become the most walkable and bikeable community in the nation.

Its activities also include reviewing City plans for road construction, drafting and reviewing bicycle-related ordinances, participating in public events, creating materials to encourage bicycling in the city, and working with other bicycling organizations at the local, state, and national level.

The Somerville Bicycle Committee meets on the first Thursday of the month from 6:30 to 8:30 p.m., usually at the Somerville Police Department Academy Room (220 Washington St.). Meetings are open to the public, and membership is open to all residents with an interest in helping make Somerville a world-class city for bicycling. Volunteer inquires are always welcome.

  • Community Representatives

  • Meeting Agendas & Minutes

Community Representatives

  • Ken Carlson, Chair
  • Tom Lamar, Vice Chair
  • Katie Pierce, Secretary
  • Alex Anderson
  • Emily Balkam
  • Mark Chase
  • Alex Epstein
  • Ted Feldman
  • Alex Frieden
  • Enid Kumin
  • Ted Lester
  • Kevin McGrath
  • Alan Moore
  • Brandon Stafford
  • Lena Webb
  • Ian Woloschin


  • Skye Stewart, Office of the Mayor
  • Katjana Ballantyne, Board of Aldermen
  • Commissioner Stanley Koty, Department of Public Works
  • Terry Smith, Traffic and Parking
  • Deputy Chief Stephen Carrabino, Police Department