About the City Council

The City Council is the City’s legislative branch. Members are elected every two years on the odd-numbered years. Four members serve at large, and seven members represent individual wards. The Council passes ordinances on a broad range of issues, from setting zoning laws to creating boards and commissions. It also has the power to approve or disapprove the Mayor's budget appropriations.

  • Members

  • Meeting Schedules & Streaming

  • City Codes & Ordinances

  • Committees & Commissions

  • Meeting Minutes

The City of Somerville's Board of Aldermen
Look up your ward number and Councilor with MySomerville.



Katjana Ballantyne President and Ward 7 Councilor
Matthew McLaughlin Vice President and Ward 1 Councilor
Stephanie Hirsch At-Large
Wilfred N. Mbah At-Large
Mary Jo Rossetti At-Large
William A. White Jr. At-Large
Matthew McLaughlin Ward 1
Jefferson Thomas (“J.T.”) Scott Ward 2
Ben Ewen-Campen Ward 3
Jesse Clingan Ward 4
Mark Niedergang Ward 5
Lance Davis Ward 6
Katjana Ballantyne Ward 7


Visit the City's IQM2 Meeting Portal to:

  • See a calendar of City Council and committee meetings
  • Download meeting agendas and minutes
  • Stream meetings live or from our archives
  • And more

Visit Municode.com to:

  • Browse City codes
  • View City ordinances
  • And more

Go to Municode.com

Standing Committees Special Committees Commissions


Standing Committees

Confirmation of Appointments and Personnel Matters J.T. Scott, Ben Ewen-Campen, Jesse Clingan,
Wilfred Mbah, Mary Jo Rossetti
Finance William White, Mary Jo Rossetti, Matthew McLaughlin, Ben Ewen-Campen, Katjana Ballantyne
Housing and Community Development Ben Ewen-Campen, Stephanie Hirsch, Jesse Clingan
Land Use Lance Davis, William White, Katjana Ballantyne, Stephanie Hirsch, Mary Jo Rossetti
Legislative Matters Mark Niedergang, Lance Davis, Matthew McLaughlin, Jesse Clingan, Katjana
Licenses and Permits Mary Jo Rossetti, Wilfred Mbah, J.T. Scott
Open Space, Environment, and Energy Wilfred Mbah, J.T. Scott, Mark Niedergang, Katjana
Ballantyne, Stephanie Hirsch
Public Health and Public Safety Jesse Clingan, Stephanie Hirsch, Matthew McLaughlin
Public Utilities and Public Works William White, J.T. Scott, Katjana Ballantyne
Senior Services William White, Mark Niedergang, Lance Davis
Traffic and Parking Mark Niedergang, Ben Ewen-Campen, Lance Davis
Veterans and Public Services Matthew McLaughlin, Stephanie Hirsch, Wilfred Mbah
Youth Services Stephanie Hirsch, Jesse Clingan, Lance Davis

Special Committees

Flood Forum J.T. Scott, Mark Niedergang, Wilfred Mbah
Rodent Issues Stephanie Hirsch, Ben Ewen-Campen, Matthew McLaughlin
Rules William White, Lance Davis, Matthew McLaughlin

Commissions and Committees

Affordable Housing Trust Ben Ewen-Campen
Bicycle Advisory Committee Katjana Ballantyne
Clean and Open Elections Task Force J.T. Scott
Community Cabinet Stephanie Hirsch
Dedication Steering Committee Jesse Clingan
High School Building Committee Mary Jo Rossetti
Minimum Mixed Use Ratio Working Group William White, Katjana Ballantyne
Multicultural Affairs Commission Wilfred Mbah, Matthew McLaughlin
Municipal Space Planning Task Force Mark Niedergang
Office of Housing Stability Advisory Board Matthew McLaughlin
Open Space Task Force Stephanie Hirsch
SomerPromise Advisory Board Stephanie Hirsch
Traffic Commission Mark Niedergang
Transfer Charge Task Force Stephanie Hirsch



2010–Present Day

View City Councilor and Committee meeting minutes from 2010 to the present day on the City's Legislative Meeting Portal.


View Board of Aldermen (the former name of the City Council) and Committee meeting minutes from 1872 to 2009 as annual PDFs in our archive.