Skip to main content

Trash & Recycling Holiday Schedule

On the City holiday dates below, trash pickup will be delayed by one day:

2024 Holidays

Monday, January 1 New Year's Day (observed)
Monday, January 15 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Monday, February 19 Presidents’ Day
Monday, April 15 Patriots' Day
Monday, May 27 Memorial Day
Thursday, July 4 Independence Day
Monday, September 2 Labor Day
Monday, October 14 Indigenous Peoples’ Day
Monday, November 11 Veterans' Day
Thursday, November 28 Thanksgiving Day
Friday, November 29 Thanksgiving Friday
Wednesday, December 25 Christmas Day
*Under State Law, all holidays falling on Sunday must be observed on Monday.

 

Find Your Regular Trash Day


Please note: The schedule for hazardous waste and yard waste collection is created by our Environmental Services Coordinator in collaboration with DPW and City vendors, and is typically released in March as part of the Environmental Service Guide. We will publish the ESG to the Trash & Recycling Information page as soon as it’s available, and all Somerville residents will receive a copy in the mail.

Programs & Initiatives

In 2023, the City created the Digital Bridge Initiative (DBI). The goal of the DBI is to support existing programming and to create new initiatives.
Join us to celebrate Somerville’s open spaces, engage with the City outside of formal meetings, and of course – enjoy some pizza.

Please submit website feedback using this form. Be sure to include:

A description of the issue (if any)
A link to the affected pages

Thank you for your feedback!