Skip to main content

Trash Holiday Schedule

On the City holiday dates below, trash pickup will be delayed by one day:

2023 Holidays

Monday, January 2* New Year's Day (observed)
Monday, January 16 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Monday, February 20 Washington's Birthday
Monday, April 17 Patriots' Day
Monday, May 29 Memorial Day
Monday, June 19 Juneteenth Independence Day
Tuesday, July 4 Independence Day
Monday, September 4 Labor Day
Monday, October 9 Indigenous Peoples’ Day
Saturday, November 11 Veterans' Day
Thursday, November 23 Thanksgiving Day
Friday, November 24 Thanksgiving Friday
Monday, December 25 Christmas Day
*Under State Law, all holidays falling on Sunday must be observed on Monday.

 

Find Your Regular Trash Day
with the Waste Wizard

 

Programs & Initiatives

Free rides to groceries and medical appointments for transit-dependent Somerville residents with limited incomes.
MWRA and the Cities of Cambridge and Somerville have implemented a system for rapid reporting of CSO discharges to the Alewife Brook.

Please submit website feedback using this form. Be sure to include:

A description of the issue (if any)
A link to the affected pages

Thank you for your feedback!