About the Personnel Department

The Personnel Department provides a wide range of internal services to the City's departments to ensure that employees are well-trained, fairly compensated, healthy, and happy. These services include:

  • Providing professional labor relations services, including contract negotations with each of seven unions
  • Maintenance of job descriptions, classifications, and compensation packages
  • Maintenance of personnel records
  • Implementation of state and federal policies and procedures
  • Equal opportunity employment and affirmative action oversight
  • And more
  • Job Postings

  • Holiday Calendar

  • Policies

Current Job Postings

Title Department Applications Due
Library Delivery Driver Libraries Tuesday, September 26, 2017
Junior Custodian Department of Public Works (DPW) Wednesday, September 27, 2017
Reference Librarian Libraries Friday, September 22, 2017
Chief Assessor & Chairman of the Board of Assessors Assessing Sunday, December 31, 2017
School Nurse (Per Diem) Health and Human Services Monday, January 1, 2018
Subscribe to Job Postings

2017 Holidays

For Non-Bargaining Unit Employees**

Monday, January 2 New Year's Day Observed
Monday, January 16 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Monday, February 20 Presidents' Day
Monday, April 17 Patriot's Day
Monday, May 29 Memorial Day
Saturday, June 17 Bunker Hill Day
Tuesday, July 4 Independence Day
Monday, September 4 Labor Day
Monday, October 9 Columbus Day
Saturday, November 11 Veterans' Day
Thursday, November 23 Thanksgiving Day
Friday, November 24 Thanksgiving Friday
Sunday, December 24 Christmas Even (1/2 day)
Monday, December 25 Christmas Day Observed

*Under State Law, all holidays falling on Sunday must be observed on Monday.

**Please note:  if you are a bargaining unit member, holidays are pursuant to your
collective bargaining agreement and may vary from this list.